Weather watching and other useful links

Weather

Even though it’s going to be lovely, it’s always useful to keep one eye on the weather:

Good week-long wind and rain visualisations on a surfing website: http://magicseaweed.com/UK-Ireland-Surf-Chart/1/?chartType=WMAG

Good local weather forecast from someone who lives in Fair Isle: http://www.orcadian.co.uk/weather/ (plus ‘Windy TV’!)

Met office: http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/public/weather/forecast/gfmzs9uhd

Travel Operational News:

Kirkwall Airport: http://www.hial.co.uk/kirkwall-airport/destinations/live-flight-information/

Northlink Ferries: http://www.northlinkferries.co.uk/opsnews/

Pentland Ferries: http://www.pentlandferries.co.uk/news.asp

Orkney Ferries: http://orkneyferries.co.uk/news.php

There’s a saying in Orkney, ‘ if you don’t like the weather, just wait half an hour’. We often get ‘four seasons in one day’.

We recommend that you bring your waterproof jackets and trousers: wind and rain = very wet, quickly. If you all bring your waterproofs, the weather will be fine!

Sky:

Aurora Watch http://aurorawatch.lancs.ac.uk/

Space Weather http://spaceweather.com/ (with a great Auroral oval visual)